Pink Eye & Chicken


Wow, this is like the latest I have posted in a long while.  It is like 5ish.  I haven’t been online today because I went with Nikki and Ryleah to the doctor.  Poor Ryleah has Pink Eye.  The doctor gave her some drops and she should be good as new in 24 hours.  Poor little thing.  They picked me up around 11am and when Ryleah seen me coming to the car she got so so excited!  It was great.  I love that she loves me.  She talked to me the whole way to the doctor and we played when she got there.  It was so great.  Afterwards we went to lunch.  She is so sweet.  We have been hanging out here at my house for the afternoon.  I bought her the cutest little sunglasses when we were at the Ocean this past weekend, but she wouldn’t let me get a picture of her with them on.  Nikki always dresses her so pretty!  Today she had on a purple gingham dress and she looked cute as a button.  The glasses would have compleated the outfit.  She just doesn’t care about fashion! 
It was so fun to hang out with Nikki today, sometimes it is really like we are still kids. We were talking the other day about how we can never be embarrassed in front of each other because we grew up together as kids, and everyone knows kids have no kind of embarrassments. I am so glad they although she lives far away we have remained such close friends (It could have something to do with the 1-2 hours a day we talk on the phone). I am glad to be so close to Ryleah too. I just love this baby so much. She is my favorite child in the whole world. Sometimes I worry that I won’t be able to love my child as much as I love her. I totally adore her!

Pete is working late tonight.  I hate when he works late (I love it for the paychecks) I miss him in the evenings.  I think for dinner I am going to make this:

Honey Coated Crunchy Chicken Fingers

Ingredients
1 lb skinless, boneless chicken breasts
1/4 C. honey (slightly warmed)
1/4 C. water
1 C. crushed corn flakes
Directions
Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Spray baking sheet with vegetable spray. Cut chicken breasts crosswise into strips 3/4 inch wide. In small bowl combine honey and water. Put corn flakes on a plate. Dip chicken strips in honey mixture then coat with corn flakes crumbs. Put on prepared baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes, or until cooked at center, turning chicken over at halfway point.

Dosen’t this sound like a tasty way to make chicken. I am always looking for new chicken recipes. I love chicken and we get in a chicken rut all the time. If you have any good chicken recipes please sent them to me!

2 Responses to “Pink Eye & Chicken”

  1. whimsicalchaos Says:

    poor thing… Never had pink eye… hope i never do… and that chicken sounds yummy!

  2. mamamichele Says:

    ooo If you like chicken I have a good recipe for it!
    Its actually a Paula Deen recipe. It sounds strange as heck, but it is litterally better than my moms chicken.. and honey, thats saying something.

    Paula Deen’s Fried Chicken

    chicken pieces (we prefer thighs and legs, but a whole cut up fryer would be fine)
    black pepper
    seasoned salt
    1 medium bottle of Texas Pete hot sauce
    6 eggs
    2-3 cups of flour
    peanut oil

    Into a large bowl pour A WHOLE BOTTLE OF HOT SAUCE (dont worry it wont be spicy, I have NO idea why, but it isnt at all) Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper and toss in hot sauce. Cover and allow to marinate at LEAST 1 hour.. (sometimes I put it in there at lunch time and leave it in the fridge) Pour beaten eggs over chicken and hot sauce and really moosh it around (moosh= proffesional chef techinical term) One at at a time rollthe chicken in flour. (It will be all gloopy.) and lay on a sheet pan to “think” a minute.
    Heat enough peanut oil to cover chicken (my spaghetti pot works AWESOME) to about 350 degrees. Cook each piece about 20 minutes.. turning often.Remember dark meat takes longer to cook than dark meat. Drain well. mmmm mmm


Leave a Reply

