Popeye

Laura went to the doctor today and everything went great!  Laura was taking to my Dad and she said “Goodbye, Pop-Pop, Poppie, Grandpop, Pop, Grandfather, or whatever you want to be called”.  My dad busts out with “Popeye, I want to be called Popeye!”  LOL  So my Dad is now offically “Popeye”!  How cute is that!  It totally fits his crazy self!  I love it.  I was talking to Pete about what his parents will be when we have kids.  He said his dad will most likely be “Grandpop”.  I picture his dad as a “Gramps” and his Mom as a “Grammy”.  My Mom used to tell me she wanted to be called “GrandMaMa”!  What did/do you call your Grandparents, how about your kids?

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

5 Responses to “Popeye”

  1. Bella Says:

    Hi Lisa! I use to call my grandparents by “Granny” and their last name or “Grampa” and their last name. I don’t know why, that’s just the way we use to do it. As for my mom, her nickname is “Bunny” given to her by my dad. So, my kids call her Granny Buns. She has over 25 grandkids and they’ve shortenend it to “G-Bun” and now a few of the older grandkids are calling her “G-String” and she just laughs her butt off! Anyway, I’m off to watch a movie, you have an AWESOME 4th of July!!!

  2. mamamichele Says:

    My grandparents were Nana and Papa. My kids call my parents that too. The girls call Steven’s parents Granny Sharron and Papa Jim.

    I am off to the pool.. Steven is working today and since Thing Two is at camp it doesnt even feel like a holiday :(. More like a misplaced saturday if anything! Hope yall have a great day.. thanks for the award 🙂

  3. shannylj Says:

    I love Popeye! Soooo cute! I have Nanny & Pappy, Grandmommy & Grandaddy. Mom & Hale are Papa & Gigi- which I think is cute. But Popeye takes the cake!

  4. Ani Says:

    LOL. Aww that is too cute.

    I called my mom’s parents grandfather and grand mommy Rose. My dad’s mom was grandmama.

  5. Christina Says:

    Popeye! That’s awesome. I didn’t get to meet my grandmothers (well, I don’t remember the one and the other died when my dad was a teen) and I didn’t see my grandfathers very often. We referred to them, though, as Grandpa (Last Name) and Grandma (Last Name).


Leave a Reply

