Mexico – Passports

I have received a bunch of comments and emails about our Mexican Holiday and the need to apply for Passports ASAP.  We don’t need passports because we are flying into AZ, where Pete’s parents live, and then renting a car and driving the three hours down into Mexico.  Pete’s friends live only about two hours over the border.  With the plane tickets, hotel and rental car, not to mention new clothes (hey I am going to Mexico, I need some new things to wear), and gas and food and wedding gifts, we just don’t want to spend the $200 plus rushing fees for a passport.  We also have to pay like $50 to get a copy of Pete’s Birth Certificate, so we will apply for passports before the end of the year, but right now I am busy finding out all about driving in Mexico and Insurance and all!  Here is a link to the web site, the official US Government one.  Saying that we can use a Birth Certificate and Photo ID.

I am so very excited.  Pete’s friends are super nice and have really cool things planned for us for the weekend!  It will be a great trip.  I can not wait to take pictures of everything.  Last time I went to Mexico I didn’t have a digital camera, let along the good one I have now! 

I just keep thinking about the sun, the sand, the water, the friends!  It is going to be such a fun Mini Vacation!

3 Responses to “Mexico – Passports”

  1. Ani Says:

    They do check for passports at the border. Things are much stricter now for any type of international travel, whether it is car or air. My parents drove into Toronto and Montreal and each time they needed a passport. My brother drove into Mexico and he need to show a passport and that was only this past March. I’m just letting you know so you’ll have a worry free trip. And you don’t have to pay that much for a passport. Apply now through the post office and you’ll have it in six to eight weeks. Good luck.

  2. rachel Says:

    Even if you are driving, you need a passport now to get into Mexico or Canada. It doesn’t take long to get one but I’d send for it as long as possible.

  3. Laura Says:

    You do have a nice camera now–it takes such “CRISP” pictures!!


Leave a Reply

