Not a Good Morning

This morning on The Today Show there was a segment about cancer, it was actually about Mom’s finding out they had cancer and how they told their kids.  I spent the morning crying and getting all puffy and sad.  It really hit home.  I remember so vividly the day we found out my Mom had cancer.  I remember the day the Doctor said “If it is in her lungs I would only give her about two years” he said it in passing because he thought that it my mom’s cancer was in her spine (It was on the outside of her lung).  Well I always think back to that and my Mom died just shy of the 2 years.  I miss her so very much.  Thursday the 13th would have been her Birthday.  She would have been 63 this year.  It’s hard to think of her as an “Old Lady”.  She was always so full of life.  She was always the mom who drove the carpool and would host the sleepovers.  She volunteered at school and was always involved!  She was the best and I just miss her so much.  On the today show the mom’s were talking about how hard it was to tell the kids.  The “expert” said that you should always tell the kids, they deserve to know.  I totally agree with this, you have to have age appropriate honesty!  It will be so hard on Thursday, it will be made easier since I will be watching Ryleah and spending the evening with my favorite girl! 

Posted in Family. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Not a Good Morning”

  1. Susan Says:

    Although I can not say that I know what you are going through. I have not lost a parent, but I lost my only grandparents, which is not the same. I feel for you and what you must of/and are going through. Remember I am here and I’m a very good listener. I luv ya!!!!!

  2. Bella Says:

    Ugh, heart wrenching. I’m sorry. Life is just not fair sometimes! She sounds like she was an awesome mother!

  3. Ani Says:

    I am so sorry you had a rough morning!!


Leave a Reply

