Stuff

Real original title, Huh?

I am so glad that it is Friday, and a Payday!  Whoo hoo!  I still am not done my Christmas shopping.  We are not doing tons of gifts this year.  I still am buying for the kids; Dakoda, Ryleah, Katelyn, Ricky, Lauren and Princess; We are buying for our sisters and parents; and we are buying little gifts for each other.  That is about it.  I hate being so strapped for money, but with the wedding, cruise, honeymoon and party coming up we just have to save save save!  It will be worth it though. 

We both are in need of hair cuts.  Poor Pete looks like he has an afro!  We are going to see Brad tonight!  He will take care of Mr. Pete!

We are getting our Christmas Tree this weekend.  I am so excited.  We don’t have a truck to use so it will be tied to the roof!  I am so nervous about it blowing off.  I need to get my Christmas Tree Stand from Laura!  I can not wait to decorate.

I am sad though.  This weekend I was going to go visit Shannon.  We were going to play dress up and I was going to get to see Miss Lorelei!  But now my car is broken.  the Emergency parking break light keeps coming on if I accelerate too fast (like normal speed).  I am putting it in the shop Sunday night to be fixed on Monday.  Thank goodness I have a back up (local use only) car.  I would hate to have to borrow my Dads.  But I am bummed out cause I had a great Saturday planned!

I think I am going make some Christmas Candy! 

Christy shared the recipe with me like 5 years ago.  It is soo good!

Chocolate Toffee Crunch

40 or so Saltine Crackers
1 cup butter (do not substitute)
1 cup brown sugar
1 12 oz. package semi-sweet chocolate morsels
Optional Topping:
Approx. 1/4 cup shelled walnuts or pecans, chopped ultra fine

 
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Line a jellyroll pan (aluminum pan with shallow sides) with aluminum foil.

Arrange saltine crackers on foil. Make sure crackers are flat, and pan is full.

Melt butter and brown sugar in a saucepan and boil for 3 minutes. Pour over crackers, spread with spoon to coat evenly.

Bake at 325 degrees F. for 5 minutes.

Remove from oven, pour chocolate chips over and let stand 5 minutes to melt.

Spread around with a knife or spoon, then cover with bits of chopped nuts.

Place in refrigerator or freezer until hard. Break into bite-size or cracker-size pieces.

2 Responses to “Stuff”

  1. Michele Lane Says:

    that candy sounds good. I dont think I have ever heard of anything like it. I cant place in how the saltines would taste in my taster. I like the salty and sweet together. I keep thinking and thinking about it. mm mm mmm. I may just have to make it to taste it for myself. of course I have the obligatory winter cold that I have every single solitary december so it wouldnt taste to me like it should. Id probably have to eat a whole lot of them to get a real good taste of them hee hee.

    I was trying to get steven to stop and cut down a little tiny charlie brown tree today along the side of the road and tie it to the roof.. no dice rubber duckie. something about obeying laws and all. I called him a grinch. He said I wasnt allowed to administer my own cold medicine any more.

    steven gets that afro look to.. let him go a few days longer than I should without a haircut? and WHOOP he looks like Don King. And usually its suddenly. Just one day he comes out of the bathroom and there it is. Giant poofy ‘fro hair. Luckily my mother does a mean men’s hair cut , and we have a deal. If I will clean her bathroom? She will cut Steve’os head. It works out well. She hates to scrub toilets? and I cant cut hair.(well) believe me, I tried it once. not a happy outcome for anyone involved.

  2. whimsicalchaos Says:

    Hey it is ok =) esp because I can’t walk now lol… and I didn’t lose any weight… talk about depressing lol… fixing the car is more important!


Leave a Reply

