Thinking Back

Today is a weird day for me.  Like it is just a Monday, but it could have been so much more.  If I would have gotten married the last time I was engaged today would have been our 3rd Wedding Anniversary.  It is odd to think about how long ago that was.  I mean it was like a lifetime ago (ok ok only a three year olds lifetime, but still…LOL). It does seem like so long ago. It is also three years since my friend Shannon and I went on a super fun cruise. We went so I wouldn’t be sad about it being my wedding day that wasn’t happening.  I wasn’t really sad that day I was having so much fun and I had started dating Pete a month or two before and I was blissfully happy in that new relationship kind of way.  Not nearly as happy as I am today though.  I mean I am knee deep in planning another cruise, but this one is going to be the most important one of my life!  This wedding is so different then the last one I planned.  The last one was a formal type wedding with the reception in a mansion and wedding in a church; this one is all about fun, which is how my whole relationship has been with Pete.  FUN!  Both sets of parents are in support of this wedding and looking forward to a cruise and that makes it so special.  I am also happy to say that I am not sad today!  There are certain anniversaries of days from my past relationship that make me super sad, like the day we broke up (due to the reasons of the breakup and the pain I was in), but today isn’t one of them!  I wonder if I will ever think of this day as just January 14th though, or if it will always be the day that never was?  Hmmm?

5 Responses to “Thinking Back”

  1. Shannon Says:

    I can’t believe it’s been 3 years! I’m sure once you’re married to Petah that Jan 14th won’t be a big deal anymore. I’m sure it will take much longer to forget all the pain that jackass put you through though. I’m sure it helps though that he knows it was wrong, but it’s still hard I’m sure. And it’s ok to still think about these things. It was a major event in your life and he totally broke your heart and turned things upside down.

    But we did get a super fun cruise vacation out of it! And I can’t wait to go on our next one!

  2. Christina Says:

    You will eventually forget the significance of the date. For a while, I remembered my previous BF’s birthday and our dating anniversary. Not any more. The dates that are special to you and Pete are much more meaningful and memorable so much so that the other ones will leave your mind.

  3. Ani Says:

    I think many years from now when you are even happier with Pete you will forget Jan 14. It will just come and go without a second thought.

  4. Michele Lane Says:

    hmm I kinda disagree… You just dont forget something that big. Its been 10 years for me since I broke off my engagement to the idiot of my life, and April 1st is still a significant day.. but not painful or wierd like it used to be. I usually remember it, and take a moment to recognize how LUCKY I am that I dodged that bullet. Recognize how much I love Steven and that how happy I am that he is in my life.

  5. justlittleme Says:

    It is hard to forget things like that. But you will have many more happy years to come with Pete. I am so happy for you guys! Such a fun and happy year this will be for you!


Leave a Reply

