Sadness

I am so sad right now.  My co-worker and friend is 21 weeks pregnant and today she found out that the baby has a Cleft Lip and Palate!  I am so sad for her and the baby.  She has already named the baby Abigail Reese (love the name).  I am sad that she has to go through this.  She was crying so hard today at work when her doctor called her.  I am sitting here looking at my favorite picture of Alyssa and I thank god she was/is prefect!  Please keep my friend in your prayers today!

5 Responses to “Sadness”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Aw, I’m sure that must have been hard to hear. But the good news is that there is surgery available and it doesn’t affect their mental or physical development. It’s cosmetic.

  2. Michele Says:

    I cant imagine.. but like shannon said. The surgeries that are available today are really amazing. With the right plastic surgeon Abigail will be able to live a very normal life. Although the first few months can be a challenge. Those babies have kind of a hard time eating. My prayers go to your friend.

  3. Sherry Cannon Says:

    Lisa- I am the clinical coordinator for the Craniofacial Team at the Medical University of South Carolina. We treat children with birth defects, mainly cleft lip and palate and other syndromes, deformities of the head and face, etc. I enjoy my job so much and I love developing a relationship with the families and children over years of treatment. Tell your friend things will be ok. Have faith. It is remarkable what the plastic curgeons can do for these children. I see them everyday and I see the before and afters and the afters are generally remarkable!

    Sherry Cannon

  4. Curly Girl Says:

    That is very sad. I can’t even imagine. My thoughts are definitely with your friend : (

  5. ani4775 Says:

    Things will be ok Lisa. I’m sorry for your friend.


Leave a Reply

