MYOB

That is what I want to tell people sometimes when they start asking 101 questions about our choice of wedding venues.

Not Counting the the people who dismiss anything Disney as cheesy, lame, tacky, cheap, etc. there have actually been a bunch of people who smirk at the cost of our wedding.  I have had one or two people say we could just go down to city hall and have a dinner and it would be the same since we already live like a married couple anyway.  Um NO!

I’m sure that some of these people have good intentions and are concerned about the fact that Pete and I don’t have very much money.  I always look at them bewildered, like how dare you mock something we’re excited about? Why would you ever assume I’d want to hear your opinion on how we’re going about our wedding day the wrong way?

Pete and I are very aware of how much this wedding is costing us.  We also know that people are going above and beyond to attend our wedding. They’re buying plane tickets, taking a week off of work, flying from all over the country, and listening to me as I talk endlessly about guest lists, flowers, dresses and menu choices. It is not as easy for our guests as it would be if we got married here in Baltimore, in a church with a reception in a hall.  I am sure I would have way more guests then 30 or so.  But I would get what 15 minutes at the most to spend with them as I was rushing here and there.  I will get 5 fun filled days with my favorite people in the whole world! I could fill the church with family and friends.  But that is not what Pete and I want.  We have our reasons for not wanting a wedding here in Baltimore, and they are personal and have nothing to do with money or religion.  We are having a fun filled reception here though (Gotta get those invites out!!).  I do hope all of my invited friends and family who are not able to join us on the beach on November 4, 2008 will celebrate with us at our “Baltimore Party”.  

I love that our wedding focuses on things we love and on spending extra time with our friends and family in a place that is so special to us.  I love that our wedding is taking a year out of my life.  Pete and I spend time each day talking about the wedding. There’s no way I’d be getting him this excited about a party if it wasn’t going to be as much fun as our whole wedding 16 days!.  We’re looking forward to getting so many people we love together in one spot for almost a week. Most everyone is really excited that we’re doing a Disney wedding and when I tell people, we usually get a great reaction.  People know I love Disney.  It’s not Mickey or Cinderella that I love so much (although I do love them a bit) it is the feeling I get in Walt Disney World.  It is the overwhelming happiness I feel in the most magical place on earth.  Pete thought I was nuts and it only took one trip to point him in the right direction.  He loves the way Disney World makes him feel too.  That is the feeling I am trying to recreate with my wedding.  Sure I have a few “Hidden Mickey’s” (it is a wedding on the DISNEY CRUISE LINE….DUH!) but nothing is over the top in your face Disney.  I just want my friends and family to know how much I love that they are sharing this with us.  I want them to look back at the Towel with the 2 *o* *o* 8 Mickey Logo and smile and think about the magic!

Be careful when talking to the bride and groom about their money and how they choose to spend it because planning a wedding is as personal as saying your vows.  The biggest thing that can keep a wedding day from being a memorable, perfect event is a bunch of people telling the bride and groom that they’ve done it wrong.

So like I said some people need to be told to MYOB!

9 Responses to “MYOB”

  1. jesser Says:

    Interesting post. We (me and my family) were having a similar discussion at dinner last night. We all have our THINGS. For some people, it’s concerts. For some, it’s cars. For some, it’s nice clothes. Etc. etc. etc. I hate being judged for whatever I decide to spend my money on. I pay my bills. All of them. In full. I even save. The rest is NOYB!! hehehehe 🙂 So enjoy your wedding and ta hell widdem. 😉

  2. Shannon Says:

    It’s YOUR wedding and if you wanna get married covered in cheese while sky diving then so be it. Wanna wrap yourselves in cling wrap and wear cowboy hats? Fine. WHO CARES?? You aren’t hurting anyone. Why do people think should spout off their opinions like that? Ugh. This would be a very boring world if everyone went to the courthouse. You don’t have to explain yourself or justify yourself or your choices to anyone. You will have memories for the rest of your life. You don’t owe a THING to anyone. Anyone that has a problem with the way you’ve chosen to celebrate your love and marriage can suck it. Those who love and adore you and Pete will be right there by you supporting you. And we can’t wait!

  3. mamamichele Says:

    Well said Shanny! I wish Id have had the nerve to just do what I wanted instead of what everyone expected me to do. I love that we have all those days to just enjoy everyone who enjoys YOU. We are going to have so so much fun. Screw em’!

  4. Jenna Says:

    that was very well said!!! i sooo know what you mean! i only WISH i could have done it the way you did it! 🙂

  5. Allison Says:

    It’s YOUR wedding, and I think you are doing the right thing by doing it the way you and Pete want. If they don’t like it, they don’t have to go!

  6. Sherry Cannon Says:

    It is YOUR wedding. Whe someone says something derrogatory about your choice of venue…maybe jealousy plays into it? HA You are doing what ya’ll wnat and I think it is a wonderful idea because after all it is what you and Pete think that matters! I can’t wait to see pictures. I have been to DisneyWorld two times and I loved it. It does have magic that you can’t get anywhere else. That is what it was intended for. Enjoy and don’t look back. Not for a minute!

  7. Christina Says:

    We had a similar experience with our wedding. Ben and I got grief for having a destination wedding in Vermont. “Why Vermont? You’re not from there!” So what? We were not from Viriginia, either, and our families no longer lived in our home states. Vermont is a beautiful state, the wedding back drop was what we envisioned, and our closest friends and relatives came. It was our version of perfect. If I had wanted a cookie-cutter wedding, I would have had one. I think your wedding sounds amazing and perfect for you guys. You’ll have so much fun and you will be surrounded by so much love in a wonderful setting. Screw the haters! 🙂

  8. Ani Says:

    It is so incredible how thoughtless people can be! They should be supportive. It is your big day and you guys should do it any way you want to!

  9. whimsicalchaos Says:

    I love the idea of your wedding and thing it is so cool… so screw the rest! Have fun… plus you don’t have to worry about snow or ice etc… and snow pretty much ruined my wedding… so have fun and screw the others…


Leave a Reply

