So Sad

I will be MIA for a while.  My Grandfather is dying.  He has an aortic aneurysm that is 9cm x 9cm.  That is the size of a large orange.  He needs surgery and doesn’t want it.  He told us he can’t do it again.  He had a horrible time in November when he had a triple bypass.  I don’t think he realizes that if he goes home he has 100% change of dying according to the doctor.  If he has the surgery he has a 50% chance of survival.  I am so sad, I can’t imagine him not being around.  I can’t stop crying and it is horrible.  He is going to die!  I took off work for the surgery tomorrow, but now that the surgery if off I have to go to work.  I need the time off for when he passes away!  God, why is this so hard!  My eyes are burning from crying!  I just don’t want him to die…I know I sound like I am whining, but it is WAY worse knowing that it is happening.  My Grandmother died all of a sudden, she was fine one day and dead the next.  I always wondered if it would be better to know, it’s not!  No one can tell him what to do, none of us (I have a large family) want to tell him to do it, I mean there is a 50% he could die in the surgery.  I know if it was me I would tell everyone tonight I loved them, say my goodbyes and tommorrow I would roll the dice and have the surgery.  50% of survival is way better odds the 100% chance of death!

Oh in better news,my good friends Edwin and Kim got a baby today, a little tiny 6 pounder, 6 days old.  They are calling him Zack!  I am so very happy for them and don’t know if I can wait a month to meet him!

11 Responses to “So Sad”

  1. rachel Says:

    I am really sorry to hear about this, Lisa!! My thoughts are with you. What a horrible situation.

  2. Susan Says:

    Lots of good thoughts sent your way. *hugs*

  3. shannon Says:

    You know I love you & I’m here for you.

  4. Michele Lane Says:

    lisa I am so sorry you are having to go through this.. I am sending tons of love and prayers to you. anything anytime!

  5. Lisanne Says:

    Lisa, OMG, I am SO sorry. How awful. 😦 I lost my grandpa in February 2008, as you know. I think that I would “roll the dice” and have the surgery, too. But of course no one can make the decision about that except for him. I hope that peace will be with him and with all of you during this awful time.

  6. Amanda Batchelor Says:

    I am so sorry Lisa about your grandfather. Just love and support him in whatever decision he makes. Big hugs to you!

  7. srykj Says:

    I’m so sorry Lisa. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this time. I’m here if you need anything.

  8. whimsicalchaos Says:

    hugs… i am soo sorry that you are going through this… hang in there…

  9. Allison Says:

    Thinking of you.

  10. Christina Says:

    So sorry to hear this, Lisa. I hope he elected to have the surgery. Thinking of you and your family.

  11. Ani Says:

    I am so sorry Lisa. My thoughts and prayers are with you all.


Leave a Reply

