Walt Disney World 2009 – Day One

DAY ONE – October 30, 2009

The night before we left I finished my last minute packing and I fell into bed around midnight. Our Alarm did not go off and we were woken up by my Sister calling at 5:30am! I jumped out of bed and into my clothes so fast. Thank goodness we had showered the night before.

She got to Alyssa’s house and she was tired! We put luggage tags on and loaded all up into the car. Check in was a breeze at the airport and after a quick Breakfast we were boarding the plane.

Posted Image

The flight was uneventful. Alyssa didn’t mind it and watched her “Mosies” (Movies) while we flew. We landed 10 minutes early and headed right to the Magical Express!

We got on the bus and poor Alyssa had a mini breakdown. She was exhausted. She fell asleep 3 minutes before we pulled up to the All Star Movies resort. Laura and I went to Check in and Brandon tried to find a quiet place to sit or stand so Alyssa could sleep.

Posted Image

Before we were done check in Alyssa was awake and looking for her “Mama”. At check in the gave her a cool Halloween balloon. The man Checking us in was great and found us rooms that were next to each other and ready at 10:30am! YAY! We were in the Fantasia Building. On the end closest to the food court and pool. It was a perfect location!

Posted Image

Alyssa was fussy she needed a nap BAD. We started heading through the lobby to the doors to the hotel room area and I was holding her hand. We walked out of the doors and we were hit with humidity like middle of summer. Alyssa spotted the pool and got so excited. She started yelling. Pool, Swim! Pool, Swim! She started right to the pool and was pulling her shirt off at the same time. We were all laughing so hard. Thankfully we caught her because she did not even see the steps leading down to the pool area. LOL We got to the room and Laura, Brandon and Alyssa got their Bating Suits on. We all headed to the pool.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

I took some pictures and then Pete and I told the rest of them good bye. We were going to head to down town Disney while they napped (after their quick swim).

Pete and I got a bus pretty fast and we got to Downtown Disney in no time.

Posted Image

We headed to Wolfgang Puck Express for lunch. MMM it was so good. I got the Chicken Salad Sandwich and Pete got the Mac & Cheese and we split both.

Posted Image

Posted Image

After Lunch we shopped around some and then went to make our own Tee shirts. That was fun! After we did that we hit up our favorite Christmas store in the world and sadly didn’t buy anything. I took this to show a friend the Hanukkah collection.

Posted Image

I also took this picture….It’s a Glamour DON’t for sure! Pete about died when he saw me snapping pictures of this…LOL Thank god for the zoom lens!

Posted Image

We realized it was getting late and we had to get ready for dinner so we hopped a bus back to the All Stars. Alyssa was waiting for us when we got there and she looked sooo stinking cute!

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

We got a bus to the Magic Kingdom (why was it so hot out) and then transferred to the Monorail to the Contemporary.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Chef Mickey was waiting for us! Alyssa really liked the busses and not being strapped in. When we checked in they couldn’t find out reservation. I thought the time was at 5:00 and Laura though 5:30. the CM checked and checked and nothing! UGH! She got us in anyway. (Later we found out half of our reservations were under my maiden name???? Opps) We posed for our Picture with Chef Mickey and Alyssa was in love. She was so sad to walk away from him. Dinner was pretty good. But we were really there to see the Characters! Goofy came over first and Alyssa was pretty scared. She didn’t cry but she sure didn’t want him to touch her.

Posted Image

Next up was Minnie or “Minn-a” as Alyssa called her. Again she was sooo excited to see her.

Posted Image

But nervous if Minnie got to close.

Posted Image

Alyssa ate very little and watched the Characters until they were out of site. After Minnie, Donald (DonDuck) showed up. Alyssa has been in love with DonDuck for months, but once there she decided that the girls (Minnie and Daisy) were her favorites.

Posted Image

It was a few minutes of peace and we all ran to get food.

Posted Image

Then Mickey came.

Posted Image

After Mickey walked away Alyssa wanted to know “Where Mic Go?”

Posted Image

I love this picture of my Sister and Alyssa! soo cute!

Posted Image

Alyssa enjoyed the napkin swinging part! She swung napkins the rest of the trip…lol

Posted Image

Alyssa was getting warmed up now. We were there so long the characters started coming back again. Donald stopped by again and Alyssa gave him a high five and the four adults at the table all broke out in applause. LOL How funny!

Posted Image

Pluto came over and Alyssa was scared. She is scared of real dogs and Pluto was no different!

Posted Image

Minnie was behind Pluto so we needed to see her again. Hugs for Minnie!

Posted Image

Then almost 2 hours later dinner was over! LOL

Posted Image

Pete and I got the monorail back to the Magic Kingdom and Laura, Brandon and Alyssa headed back to the hotel with a quick stop at Downtown Disney. I was so angry with myself since I had forgotten Laura’s Christmas present. We were going to give it to her at dinner since the Dolphin swim was at 9am the next morning.

So we were at the Magic Kingdom…yay.

Posted Image

Posted Image

I need to start each and every trip at the Magic Kingdom. I teared up when I saw the castle! Pete and I headed to Tomorrowland and rode Buzz!

Posted Image Posted Image

I won, I won, I won!

Posted Image

Posted Image

Then we still had a bit of time before the desert party so we went into the Carrousel of Progress. My Favorite attraction! BUT everyone started texting me and they were all there and I was stuck in 20 minutes of “It’s a Great big Beautiful Tomorrow”!

Once out of there Pete and I bee lined to the Desert party to try to get them to move Our party and my friend Sandy’s closer…No luck! BUT then I found all the girls! YAY! Jenna, Mikkel, Tracy, Sandy, Vanessa!  It was so good to see my friends.  It was such a great treat we were all in Disney World at the same time.

Posted Image

We can’t forgot the boys and kids too! It was so great!

Posted Image

We all talked for a long time and we were the last people let into the desert party! We totally could have snuck Mikkel and Tracy in, but being the honest person Mikkel is and the Disney employee that Tracy is the declined my law breaking (for now). We had great seats right in the front and so did Sandy and Vanessa! YAY!

Posted Image

We had some yummy deserts and posed for pictures in front of the castle.

Posted Image

Posted Image

The photographer was the grumpiest Disney Employee ever! Closer, closer, closer! OMG shut up dude!

Posted Image

Then Wishes started, it was magical as always!

Posted Image

Posted Image

After the fireworks people cleared out fast. We sat and talked, then we realized that Sandy and Vanessa were still there. YAY. We went over and joined them. Then Mikkel and Tracy came back over. I slipped my wristband off and Mikkel slipped it on and went up to the buffet to get a few deserts for her and Tracy. We then walked out and Tracy got Mikkel a discount on some car stickers before we headed to the Monorail. We took it back to the Grand Floridian with Mikkel and Tracy and then walked to the Wedding Pavilion (ahh love it) to get in Mikkel’s car. She drove us back to the All Stars (what a windy place that parking lot is?). She wouldn’t let us pay for her gas when she stopped to fill up, I really wish she would have. She did so much for us this trip!

It was late when we got to our room and Laura was asleep. Darn! I set the wake up call early to get up and go to her room to give her the surprise. LOL Pete went to get Soda and I crashed and went to sleep! What a long, fun, first day!

One Response to “Walt Disney World 2009 – Day One”

  1. Shannon Says:

    I LOVE your trip recaps! You always have the best pictures too! Alyssa is just soooo cute. I love her curly hair! And her Minnie dress. What a great trip!


Leave a Reply

