Oprah

I love Oprah, she is so honest and so real.  I want to be her friend.  LOL  Yesterday while I was home from work due to the THREE feet of snow we had fall over the weekend she had a very good episode on.  As some of you know the Topic hits a soft spot in my heart, it is a topic I feel SO strongly about and have a very personal connection to.

The show was so good.  Her “guests” were four different child molesters.

One “guest” was a 65 man who molested a 5 year old, one was a father who molested his 12 yr old daughter, one was a guy (about my age, early 30’s) who had been molesting and raping the same girl since he was 8 and she was 5.  She finally told when she was 17 and he was 20.  Then the last guy was a 20 something guy who had raped 4 girls who were all about 14 years old. 

They were all in therapy and been convicted.  I personally think the laws are too  lax.  There should be MUCH longer sentences and I feel you should have to register as a sex offender for your entire life.  Something like the desire to abuse a child never goes away.  The abusers are always going to be sick individuals.  The show was full of such good and useful information.

The Child Abusers straight up said if anyone were paying attention they would have gotten caught sooner.  They also said they didn’t want to hurt the girls, they wanted them to enjoy it as much as they were enjoying it. 

SICK!!!!!  I don’t know how you can even look at a child and have sexual feelings….They are an innocent child.  How dare these sick perverts steal the child innocents away in one quick minute!  Bastards!

Oprah even talked about being molested a little bit.  She is so amazing.  I am going to miss her show so much once it is off the air. 

I know this is a heavy topic to my normally light and airy blog, but I feel so strongly about it and I am so happy that someone put this out in the media.  I do not feel it is discused nearly enough.  I am thankful for the sex offender registry and it was one of the first things I checked when I moved into my new house!  http://www.familywatchdog.us/

Posted in TV. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Oprah”

  1. Michele Lane Says:

    I hear ya. UGH. I think those who molest children should go away forever. No questions. You did it? Im cutting your penis off and you may now spend forever in a dark hole.

    on a lighter note. Is it still snowing there?

  2. Shannon Says:

    You know I feel really strongly about this too. I agree that their sentences are FAR too lax. The only condolence is that I hear that other prisoners are really hard on child molesters in prison, so apparently they totally get that karma back on them.
    A problem that I don’t think everyone realizes is that there is no sexual abuse that is worse than another, that some victims get off easier than others. Some people might think “Oh well he didn’t rape her he just fondled her.” Not that rape isn’t horrible, I know, it is totally horrible, but ANY sexual abuse can change a child’s life forever. It affects their relationships, all relationships, for the rest of their lives. They might not even show signs of this until they are in their 30s or with a certain person. Something might trigger it decades later. But it never goes away.
    I think it’s great that you wrote about this. If it helps just one person become more aware then you’ve totally succeeded.


Leave a Reply

