I’ll Miss You!

Friday night my Grandfather died!  I am pretty upset about it. PopPop was one of the most fun “Grown ups” I knew.  I guess that is how Grandfathers are supposed to be.  Right after I got home from my Honeymoon he had open heart surgery.  It was a struggle but he was on the mend and was well enough to come to Alyssa’s first Birthday party in January of 2009.  In April of 2009 he lost his sight and then Johns Hopkins Hospital found an aneurysm and had to operate again.  This time it wasn’t so great!  He never really recovered and has spent the last year in and out of the hospital and nursing home.  Never to go home.   He had brain damage from the Heart and Lung Machines and never fully knew what was going on again.  The last thing he said to me was “I Love You”!  Granted it was about a year ago the morning of his surgery, but I will never forget hugging him and telling him I would see him after the surgery!  He has suffered a long hard year and I really hope he at peace!  The funeral is on Wednesday and I am not looking forward to it.  I hate dealing with death.   I am being strong and supportive of for my Dad, but really I just want to cry!  We are scanning old pictures to play on a digital photo frame at the funeral home and these are a few of my favorites!

My Grandfather and Grandmother on their Wedding day!
Pop Pop and Grandmaw by you.

My Grandparents holding me when I was 5 Days old.
Grandmom, Pop Pop & Me by you.

My Dad, My Grandfather, My Great Grandmother and me
Scanned Image 101140007 by you.

Pop Pop, Me & my Dad

Scanned Image 101140010 by you.

Pop Pop,Laura & Alyssa on the day Alyssa came home from the hospital.  He was sick and was just coming by to drop off a gift.  He didn’t want to get the baby sick but se forced him to take a picture really fast before he left.  I am so glad we did!

P2020450 by you.

Laura, Pop Pop and I takes the summer of 2009

100_3975 by you.

This is the last picture we had taken together!  It was in January of 2009.   I think it is my very favorite one!  I love how he is reaching up and holding my hand!

Imported Photos 00215 by you.

7 Responses to “I’ll Miss You!”

  1. Beth Says:

    Sorry about your PopPop. Remember that is is OK and natural and normal to just cry! You are sad so crying is good- it does not mean that you are not being supportive of your Dad- you are just showing your real feelings and it can relieve some of your stress and sadness. Hang in there!

  2. margievz Says:

    I’m so sorry Lisa. Let it out. It will do you good. Hugs!

  3. Amanda Batchelor Says:

    I am so very sorry Lisa! My heart goes out to you in this time of need. I pray you find strength in this hard time.

  4. Susan Says:

    Prayers for strength sent for you! Take the time you need to grieve, too.

    Lots of love from the Ls

  5. Ani Vuolo Says:

    What wonderful memories of a wonderful man. What touching pictures. I think you had your Pop Pop’s eyes. And oh my goodness does Alyssa look so much like you in the photo at the beach with your father, Pop Pop and great grandmother. What was his name?

    I am sorry the end of his life was so difficult for him and all of you.

    Thinking of all of you during this difficult time.

    Glad the good news about about baby number two came at this time.

  6. Lisanne Says:

    I am so very sorry, Lisa. I agree ~ you have to just let your emotions out. Those are wonderful photos!!!

  7. Shannon Says:

    I’m so sorry my friend. Sending you big hugs and lots of love.


Leave a Reply

